Agricultural Commission

AAgriculture.PNGThe Agricultural Commission’s purpose is to support commercial agriculture and other farming activities in the Town of Amherst.

The Commission’s duties include:
  • Promoting agricultural-based economic opportunities.
  • Acting as mediators, advocates, educators, and/or negotiators on farming issues.
  • Working for the preservation of agricultural lands.
  • Pursuing all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community.
  • Reviewing and advising on development proposed in farmland areas, as may be permitted under zoning and other development regulations.

Agendas & Minutes

Most Recent Agenda | All Agendas
Most Recent Minutes | All Minutes
Meeting Recordings 

 Agricultural Commission meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. in the First Floor Meeting Room, Town Hall (unless otherwise noted on the agenda).

Staff Liaison(s): Dave Ziomek & Stephanie Ciccarello


Year Appointed
Term Expires
Glenroy Buchanan
David Machowski
Douglas Marshall, Planning Board Rep           2020           2021
 Vacancy (5)    

The Agricultural Commission is composed of 7 members and 1 non-voting Planning Board Representative. Members are appointed by the Town Council for 3 year terms.

**Term extended until Town Council can act on appointments.